Access Keys:


About the individual Research Councils

Research Councils UK (RCUK) are responsible for investing public money in research in the UK to advance knowledge and generate new ideas which lead to a productive economy, healthy society and contribute to a sustainable world.

Each Research Council funds research and training activities in a different area of research ranging across the arts and humanities, social sciences, engineering and physical sciences and the medical and life sciences. RCUK supports over 50,000 researchers including 19,000 doctoral students, around 14,000 research staff, and 2,000 research fellows in UK universities and in their own Research Institutes.

In this area you can find more information about:

  • Activities: common objectives and principal working mechanisms for the Research Councils.
  • Government Funding: how the Research Councils are funded by Government.
  • Governance: how the Research Councils are governed by their advisory boards.

There are seven Research Councils:

Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)
Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
Medical Research Council (MRC)
Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)
Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)

Freedom of Information | Cookies and Privacy | Terms and Conditions | © Research Councils UK 2014