Access Keys:


Research Council budget allocations 2015/16 announced

Research Councils UK notes today (1st May), the publication of the booklet setting out the allocation of the science budget for 2015/16. We welcome the recognition that this gives to the contribution of research to the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK as well as highlighting continued areas of focus for the sector and for the Research Councils including efficiency and effectiveness; further collaboration with business and industry; as well as maintaining the UK’s world leading edge as a research nation.

We are continuing to develop our delivery plans for 2015/16 to ensure that the UK continues to maintain its excellent international research standing and that we deliver maximum impact from our research. These delivery plans will be published shortly.

- ends -

Further information

Nicholas Turner
Press and Communications Manager
Tel: 01793 444592 or email: Nicholas Turner

Notes to editors

  1. A copy of The allocation of science and research funding 2015 to 2016: investing in world-class science and research is available here.

  2. Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils who annually invest around £3 billion in research. We support excellent research, as judged by peer review, that has an impact on the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. To maintain the UK’s global research position we offer a diverse range of funding opportunities, foster international collaborations and provide access to the best facilities and infrastructure around the world. We also support the training and career development of researchers and work with them to inspire young people and engage the wider public with research. To maximise the impact of research on economic growth and societal wellbeing we work in partnership with other research funders including the Technology Strategy Board, the UK Higher Education funding bodies, business, government, and charitable organisations.

    The seven UK Research Councils are:

    • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
    • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
    • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
    • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
    • Medical Research Council (MRC);
    • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
    • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).

Freedom of Information | Cookies and Privacy | Terms and Conditions | © Research Councils UK 2014