Access Keys:


RCUK welcomes discussions to pursue research and innovation consortia with China to address the challenges of urbanisation

RCUK are delighted that positive discussions between the UK and China to hold a joint competition to trial new technologies that address the challenges of urbanisation are underway.

Discussions between Department of Business, Innovation and Skills and the Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology are proposing a competition as part of the Research and Innovation Bridges Programme which will give matched funding to consortia of private sector, research organisations and city partners from the UK and China.

Through its Newton Fund the UK Government will contribute up to £5 million to the programme which is due to get underway in early 2015.

RCUK will be partnering with Innovate UK and the Ministry of Science and Technology in China in the delivery of this initiative.

- ends -

Further information

For press contact:
Nicholas Turner
Press and Communications Manager
Tel: 01793 444592 or email: Nicholas Turner

For Information on RCUK International opportunities contact the RCUK International Team.

More information can be found on the BIS newton fund website.

Notes to editors

Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils who annually invest around £3 billion in research. We support excellent research, as judged by peer review, that has an impact on the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. To maintain the UK’s global research position we offer a diverse range of funding opportunities, foster international collaborations and provide access to the best facilities and infrastructure around the world. We also support the training and career development of researchers and work with them to inspire young people and engage the wider public with research. To maximise the impact of research on economic growth and societal wellbeing we work in partnership with other research funders including the Technology Strategy Board, the UK Higher Education funding bodies, business, government, and charitable organisations.

The seven UK Research Councils are:

  • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
  • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
  • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
  • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
  • Medical Research Council (MRC);
  • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
  • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).

Freedom of Information | Cookies and Privacy | Terms and Conditions | © Research Councils UK 2014