Access Keys:


Hauser report into Catapults outlines role for RCUK

RCUK welcomes yesterday’s publication of the Hauser Report outlining recommendations for the future of Catapult Centres. 

We are pleased that the report recognises the valuable role that Innovation and Knowledge Centres (IKCs) have played in nurturing capability in emerging technologies. It offers clear guidance as to how the Research Councils should continue to play an active role in the future of the Catapult Centres. 

We note the report recommends that the Research Councils should be asked to contribute to the incubation and support of new centres, in key areas, to help drive the economy into global markets, delivering continued growth to the UK economy, this strongly aligns with our own plans.  

RCUK is fully committed to delivering excellence with impact and we look forward to developing an even stronger partnership with Innovate UK looking forward, to ensure that Catapult Centres build constructive engagement with the research base.

- ends -

Further information

Nicholas Turner
Press and Communications Manager
Tel: 01793 444592 or email: Nicholas Turner

Notes to editors

Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils who annually invest around £3 billion in research. We support excellent research, as judged by peer review, that has an impact on the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. To maintain the UK’s global research position we offer a diverse range of funding opportunities, foster international collaborations and provide access to the best facilities and infrastructure around the world. We also support the training and career development of researchers and work with them to inspire young people and engage the wider public with research. To maximise the impact of research on economic growth and societal wellbeing we work in partnership with other research funders including the Technology Strategy Board, the UK Higher Education funding bodies, business, government, and charitable organisations.

The seven UK Research Councils are:

  • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
  • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
  • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
  • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
  • Medical Research Council (MRC);
  • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
  • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).

Freedom of Information | Cookies and Privacy | Terms and Conditions | © Research Councils UK 2014