Access Keys:


ESRC CEO elected to Science Europe Governing Board

Research Councils UK (RCUK) is delighted to announce that Professor Jane Elliott, Chief Executive of the Economic and Social Research Council, was yesterday (20 November) elected unanimously to the Science Europe Governing Board.

All seven Research Councils are members of Science Europe, a policy organisation based in Brussels representing 52 research funding and performing organisations across Europe.

Professor Elliott said: “I look forward to contributing to the work of the Governing Board. Societal research challenges increasingly cross both disciplinary and national borders and Science Europe plays an important role in shaping policy to facilitate collaboration.”

The Governing Board sets the strategic direction for Science Europe, which was established in 2011 and has already acquired  a high-profile in Brussels, providing key stakeholder input to the European Commission, Parliament and other European bodies. Professor Miguel Seabra, the new President of Science Europe, particularly thanked his predecessor Professor Paul Boyle, former ESRC CEO, who was the inaugural President of Science Europe from 2011 until August 2014.

Professor Elliott, who took up her role as ESRC CEO in October, will in January officially start as the RCUK International Champion, with responsibility for representing RCUK’s international agenda.

- ends -

Further information

Nicholas Turner
Press and Communications Manager
Tel: 01793 444592 or email: Nicholas Turner

Notes to editors

Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils who annually invest around £3 billion in research. We support excellent research, as judged by peer review, that has an impact on the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. To maintain the UK’s global research position we offer a diverse range of funding opportunities, foster international collaborations and provide access to the best facilities and infrastructure around the world. We also support the training and career development of researchers and work with them to inspire young people and engage the wider public with research. To maximise the impact of research on economic growth and societal wellbeing we work in partnership with other research funders including the Technology Strategy Board, the UK Higher Education funding bodies, business, government, and charitable organisations.

The seven UK Research Councils are:

  • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
  • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
  • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
  • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
  • Medical Research Council (MRC);
  • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
  • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).

Freedom of Information | Cookies and Privacy | Terms and Conditions | © Research Councils UK 2014