Access Keys:


RCUK announces 2015/16 Block Grant for Open Access


Research Councils UK (RCUK) has today, 5th March, announced the amounts that it will be paying to institution in the block grant to support the implementation of its open access policy. For 2015/16 RCUK will make available a total of £22.6 million via the block grant, with institutions seeing a rise of around 14% in their individual grants.

As further support for the RCUK policy on open access, STFC have also provided funding to SCOAP3 to benefit UK institutions. The SCOAP3 partnership has helped to convert several journals in the area of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost to authors. 

Subsequent years of the RCUK block grant will be influenced by the findings of the Independent Review of the Implementation of the RCUK Open Access Policy, due to publish later this month, as well as the future spending review. The spreadsheet outlining the distribution of the block grant can be found here .

- ends -

Further information

Alexandra Saxon
Head of RCUK Strategy Unit
Tel: 01793 444474 or email: Alexandra Saxon

Notes to editors

  1. For further information on the allocation and distribution of the block grant see:

  2. More information on SCOAP3 is available:

  3. Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils who annually invest around £3 billion in research. We support excellent research, as judged by peer review, that has an impact on the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. To maintain the UK’s global research position we offer a diverse range of funding opportunities, foster international collaborations and provide access to the best facilities and infrastructure around the world. We also support the training and career development of researchers and work with them to inspire young people and engage the wider public with research. To maximise the impact of research on economic growth and societal wellbeing we work in partnership with other research funders including Innovate UK, the UK Higher Education funding bodies, business, government, and charitable organisations.

    The seven UK Research Councils are:

    • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
    • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
    • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
    • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
    • Medical Research Council (MRC);
    • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
    • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).

Freedom of Information | Cookies and Privacy | Terms and Conditions | © Research Councils UK 2014