Access Keys:


RCUK doctoral stipend levels and indicative fees for 2014

Research Councils UK (RCUK) has announced doctoral stipend levels and indicative fees for 2014.

  • National Minimum Doctoral Stipend for 2014/15 is £13,863
  • Research Councils UK Indicative Fee Level for 2014/15 is £3,996

In recent years, increases to the Research Councils UK minimum doctoral stipend have been based on the GDP deflator and this remains the start-point for determining minimum stipend levels. However, in line with the Government plans for public sector pay awards to average 1%, the Research Councils have agreed the national minimum doctoral stipend for 2014/15 is £13,863.

Research organisations should note that the 2011 autumn statement referred to public sector pay increases averaging one per cent for each of the two years after the current pay freeze comes to an end.

The indicative fee level for 2014/15 will increase in line with the GDP deflator and this gives £3,996. For planning purposes, research organisations should note that whilst the GDP deflator remains the basis for determining indicative fee levels, it will remain under review.

- ends -

Further information

Jane Sykes
Head of Communications
Tel: 01793 444400 or email: Jane Sykes

Notes to editors

Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils who annually invest around £3 billion in research. We support excellent research, as judged by peer review, that has an impact on the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. To maintain the UK’s global research position we offer a diverse range of funding opportunities, foster international collaborations and provide access to the best facilities and infrastructure around the world. We also support the training and career development of researchers and work with them to inspire young people and engage the wider public with research. To maximise the impact of research on economic growth and societal wellbeing we work in partnership with other research funders including the Technology Strategy Board, the UK Higher Education funding bodies, business, government, and charitable organisations.

The seven UK Research Councils are:

  • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
  • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
  • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
  • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
  • Medical Research Council (MRC);
  • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
  • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).

Freedom of Information | Cookies and Privacy | Terms and Conditions | © Research Councils UK 2014